Barbara de la Cuesta

Grief Map

The Driftless Unsolicited Novella Series

General Release: December 19, 2017


Prompted by a fifth-grader’s oral history project, Rosa begins to think about her life in ways she never has before — her identities as woman, wife, mother; her loves and her losses; her body and how it has been pleasured and abused; the rivers and villages and homes she has occupied in Zoyatla, Lowell, and Boston.

Set against the backdrop of a home health care workers’ strike and interwoven with the increasing complexity of her personal life, ROSA offers a striking portrait of growth, change, and recollection in late middle age.

About the Author

Barbara de la Cuesta has one published novel, The Spanish Teacher, winner of the Gival Press Fiction Prize in 2007. A collection of her poems, Rosamundo, will be published this year by Finishing Line Press. In of 2008, she received a fellowship to the Millay Colony, where she completed Rosa. She has also been past recipient of a fellowship in fiction from the Massachusetts Artists’ Foundation, and the New Jersey Council on the Arts. Rosa is part of a trilogy of novellas titled Adam’s Chair.

About the Art
The Fine First Edition

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This